Author Topic: Host SDK: Thread Safety  (Read 9137 times)

raffitea

• View Profile
Host SDK: Thread Safety
« on: January 22, 2012, 14:56:14 »
Dear developers of Vamp and QM,

I am a developer of Mixxx (mixxx.org) the leading Open Source DJ software for Mac, Linux and Windows.
We have currently released Mixxx 1.10. To support beat tracking and better BPM detection in 1.11  Vamp and the QM
plugin set have already been successfully integrated in our development branch. The results are excellent and
I would like to take the chance to say thank you.

I think Vamp and QM may be improved further. We have faced the following two problems during development:

Vamp SDK and thread-safety

Thread safety is an important requirement for Mixxx. We have three threads accessing the PluginLoader class.
A brief look at the PluginLoader source code showed that PluginLoader::getInstance() is not thread-safe. Moreover, 
PluginLoader::loadPlugin returns a " new Vamp::PluginHostAdapter "( PluginLoader.cpp:407 ). At this point, I think that we are a bit unsafe. Indeed, I do not know what can happen, since the threads appear to share the same PluginLoader instance and a thread may call it, while the second has not yet obtained it.

So our big question is: Could you guys please release a thread-safe version of the Vamp Host -SDK?

QM beat track and 4/4 signatures