Author Topic: Get the Chord sequence from a song  (Read 11244 times)

terataz

• View Profile
Get the Chord sequence from a song
« on: October 06, 2009, 13:27:04 »
Hi All,
I'm trying to get the chord sequence for a song.
For this task i'm using vamp:qm-vamp-plugins:qm-keydetector:key since from their Doc they state

"Key Detector analyses a single channel of audio and continuously estimates the key of the music by comparing the degree to which a block-by-block chromagram correlates to the stored key profiles for each major and minor key. "

I'm starting with a simple song, with clear, acoustic guitar changes (Wish you were here, Pink Floyd) but the results I'm getting are not encouraging: both the sequence and the timeline for the chords are quite wrong.

I'm quite new to the field so i'm probably doing something wrong here.
Or maybe there are some better Vamp plugin for the job out there...

Thanks
Frank Danieli

matthiasm

• View Profile
Re: Get the Chord sequence from a song
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2009, 14:08:55 »
Hi Frank,

Bad news first: There is currently no vamp plugin for chord extraction that I am aware of. That's a bit of a shame, especially since I am actually doing research on chord extraction from audio. But my stuff generally too complicated for me to try and rewrite it all in C++ for the Vamp plugin.

Secondly: Please be aware that the key extraction plugin is no chord extraction plugin. Keys describe the tonality of a chunk of music, which usually contains many chords, so there is quite some difference between the two concepts. Consequently, you cannot expect the key extractor to give you good chord estimates (or indeed good beat estimates ;) ).