Author Topic: Environment variable for plugin folder  (Read 6914 times)

Wisdom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Environment variable for plugin folder
« on: May 15, 2007, 16:54:27 »
Hi,

Just downloaded and started playing around with this great tool, thanks for making it available for everyone!

One small suggestion; could you please consider an environment variable (such as VAMP_PLUGINS or so) for setting the plugins folder in the next version? The current Windows path being used is not very nice at the moment for those who refrain themselves using "C:\Program Files" normally. :-)

Thanks.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2007, 16:56:37 by Wisdom »

cannam

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Environment variable for plugin folder
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2007, 14:46:47 »
I just wrote a reply agreeing with you, and saying I would add such a variable in future versions.

But then I went back and checked the code, and found that there already is one - VAMP_PATH.  On Windows, it should be a semicolon-separated list of folder paths.  I don't have a Windows box to hand at the moment -- does it work?


Chris
« Last Edit: May 17, 2007, 14:50:36 by cannam »

cannam

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Environment variable for plugin folder
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2007, 09:25:56 »
I've added a note about VAMP_PATH to the download page.


Chris

Wisdom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Environment variable for plugin folder
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2007, 09:56:57 »
Hi Chris,

I just tested it and yes, it works. Thanks.

Huseyin